Posted by: ctraderd | July 14, 2013

Watchlist- Week of 7/15/13 $HPQ $MSTX $NKE

Last week, the market skyrocketed as we trending higher with the indexes approaching all time highs once again. The Dow Jones Industrial Average gained +475.75 for +3.17%, the S&P 500 gained +54.55 for +3.36%, and QQQ shares closed Friday’s trading session at $75.30 for a gain of +2.90 or +4.02% on the week. Last week I didn’t close any trades but I opened up two. I bought 3000 more shares of MSTX at the same price as my original fill, or $.4400 on Monday. I am now holding 6000 shares, and I will likely not add anymore. I also added 5 HPQ Aug13 27 Calls at $.60 on Wednesday. Before making any decisions based on this article, read my disclaimer and do your own research!!

1.) Hewlett-Packard Company (HPQ)

Last week, HPQ gained +.57 for +2.22%. As previously mentioned, on Wednesday I bought 5 HPQ Aug13 27 Calls at $.60.  I am currently up +$10 unrealized as the Calls closed the week at $.62 for a gain of around +3.33%. At the peak of last week I was up nearly +33%, but I want 100%+ gains on these babies. My reason for buying these calls was that HPQ received an analyst upgrade in the past week. The upgrade was from Jim Suva, an analyst at Citigroup (C) and he upgraded Hewlett-Packard from a sell to a buy on Wednesday. The reason why was not because of sales in PCs, but because of services, which actually accounts for about one fifth of the company’s sales. Suva placed a price target on HPQ of $32/share. I am only risking $315 on this trade and I will sell if $25 breaks to the downside.

2.) Mast Therapeutics, Inc. (MSTX)

MSTX gained +.0345 last week for a total of +7.75%. The bounce in MSTX was driven by an excellent presentation at the JMP securities conference. The stock did falter a bit on Friday, but fought its way back to close to breakeven on the day. I am currently up a total of +.0395/share on my total position for 6000 shares for a total of +8.9%. My price target remains $.65+ and my stop remains .$40.

3.) Nike, Inc. (NKE)

NKE gained +.21 last week for a total of just +.33%. I will be selling my calls at the open tomorrow most likely to preserve what cash is left in the position. The puts are pretty much a goner with a -100% come Friday. I had a chance to exit both positions at a profit at one time or another, but my hesitation made me stay in them unfortunately. One of my biggest flaws as a trader is failure to take profits in most cases. A number of trades I have made in the past could have been profitable if I had not let greed overrun me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

