Posted by: ctraderd | April 14, 2013

Watchlist- Week of 4/15/13 $DXJ $GOOG $VELT

The markets had a monster week last week as the Dow Jones Industrial Average gained +299.81 for +2.06%, the S&P 500 gained +36.62 for +2.36%, and QQQ shares closed Friday’s trading session at $69.94, gaining +1.985 for +2.92%. I as well had a monster week last week, making +$658.36. I made 4 trades, two in GOOG, one in DXJ and one in ATHX. In the GOOG trade, I closed out my swing trade play for a total profit of +$39.77 overall. I lost -$629.97 when I closed the long leg, and made $669.74 when I closed the short leg. In DXJ, I bought 15 Apr13 45 Calls at $1.20 on Monday after I closed out my GOOG trade. I then sold on Wednesday at $1.60 for a +$554.02 profit. In ATHX, I sold my remaining 750 shares at $1.79, my original price target, from $1.68, making +$64.67 on that lot. You can see all these trades and my explanations for them here. On the month, I am now at a +$1,569.52 profit making 9 trades, going 8-1. See those trades and the explanations here. I am also now positive all time in the realized category, at a profit of +$347.29. You can see all my trades on my profit.ly page. Before making any decisions based on this article, read my disclaimer and do your own research!! 

1.) WisdomTree Japan Hedged Equity Fund (DXJ)

Last week, DXJ gained +1.982 for +4.43%. As previously mentioned, my best trade of the month came last week on DXJ in which I bought 15 Apr13 45 Calls at $1.20 and sold them at $1.60 2 days later for a +$554.02 profit. This week, I will be looking for more DXJ option plays to bank on either the up-moves, or the down-moves from this one. DXJ is still my #1 Pick of 2013.

2.) Google Inc. (GOOG)

Last week, GOOG gained +13.37 for +1.72%. As previously mentioned I closed out my GOOG play I held over last weekend for a +$39.77 profit. However, I did not execute the play without flaw. I could have grabbed WAY bigger profits if I had held the Calls till the end of the week, because they expired at ~$10/contract, which would have been ~$100 in profits on the long leg alone. I did not even stick to my original gameplan of selling the losing leg right away on Monday morning, because if I had, I could have sold for ~$200 in losses on the long leg. So either way, The exit on my Call position was bad, but the exit on my Put position was excellent. The puts ended up expiring the week worthless. This one is still on my watchlist for potential day trade ideas. GOOG also reports earnings on April 18th, and I will definitely be playing it with a straddle. I will release an article later this week on how I decide to play it. You guys can expect the article on Wednesday night most likely.

3.) Velti, PLC (VELT)

VELT was on fire last week gaining +.14 for +7.57%. I f this keeps up, I think I will see my price target of $2.20 in no time. I am still long 1000 shares of this one from $2.08 at an average of $2.04. I am holding for volatility because I have seen this thing bounce a ton before. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

