Posted by: ctraderd | January 21, 2013

Watchlist- Week of 1/22/13 $DXJ $DDD $UVXY

Last week, the Dow Jones Industrial Average gained +160.74 for a total of +1.19%, the S&P 500 gained +15.64 for a total of +1.06%, and QQQ shares closed Friday’s trading session at $67.07 gaining only +.18 on the week for a small gain of +.27%. This morning, President Obama was inaugurated for his 2nd term as POTUS, and the S&P 500 hit 5 year highs last week. Last week, I lost a total of $1,327.84 because my CAT straddle expired worthless. I also made a trade in DDD in which I shorted 4 Feb13 65 Puts for a small $89.81 profit. I should have made more if I watched my account closer, because a automated order to sell at $5.20 that I thought I had canceled was triggered, and now these ones are at $3.60. This is a lesson to all of you and me to watch your open orders closely, because if you don’t you can leave HUGE profits on the table like I did with these ones. For more information about these trades, see my profit.ly page. Before making any decisions based on this article, read my disclaimer and do your own research!!

1.) WisdomTree Japan Hedged Equity (DXJ)

DXJ gained only +.18 for +.46% on the week. This baby was all over the place during this week, moving a few dollars a day at some points. On Wednesday, we even saw sub-$38 prices. I didn’t tweet about it at all, but I wish I did. It would have been a great buy for you guys who aren’t in it yet. DXJ closed Friday at $38.97 after the smoke had cleared. Remember, this baby almost completely parallels the Nikkei 225. If you are not already in, I suggest that you wait for a dip under $38 again, in order to buy in before this one really starts to run. This baby is still my #1 pick for 2013.

DXJv225

2.) 3D Systems Corp. (DDD)

DDD was on fire last week gaining +5.01 for a total of +8.24%. As I mentioned before, I shorted 4 Feb13 65 Puts at $5.50 and covered at $5.20. This was a pretty good trade idea on my part, but I executed it awfully. I will have to pay more attention to detail on trades like this and check my open orders a ton. I will watch the trading tomorrow, and based on that, I will either short the Feb13 70 Puts or the Feb13 70 Calls at the close. This time, I will pay careful attention to my open orders and not panic as much.

3.) ProShares Ultra VIX Short-Term Fut ETF (UVXY)

UVXY lost –2.45 last week for a total of –17.42%, closing Friday at $11.56 per share. This ETF gains value when the market goes down, which is why this baby is down so much. I have seen this thing as high as $28.66 per share just back in December, so I know it moves a ton. I will likely enter into a long 200 share position tomorrow at the open and then sell covered calls off of it until I am correct in calling the top. I believe that the markets are due for a big fall soon, due to so much gains. So, if we accurately call the top on the markets and we are long UVXY, it will lead to HUGE gains in my opinion.

Responses

  1. Hello,

    I’m an editor at benzinga.com. I happened upon this blog and find it quite insightful and fun to read.

    If you’d like to reach a much larger audience, we’d love to have you contribute to our site. email me if you’re interested — nathan@benzingapro.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

