Posted by: ctraderd | January 6, 2013

Watchlist- Week of 1/7/13

I would first like to say Happy New Year and I wish you all success in your life and trading in 2013. My goal for 2013 is to hit $25,000 in profits by December 31, 2013. In order to do this, I will have to trade much better than I did in 2012, but I am up for the challenge! In the first week of January, The Dow Jones Industrial Average had an enormous gap up, gaining +517.83 for a leap of +4.01%, the S&P 500 gained +64.04 points for a total of +4.57%, and QQQ shares closed Friday’s trading session at $66.64, gaining +2.72 on the week for a total of +4.27%.

I made two trades this week, for a total profit of $26.92. In the first trade, I left a ton of money on the table, selling my 3 CAT Jan13 90 Calls for a measly $62.93 profit, when I could have made around $2,000 if I had just held on for one more day. In the second trade, I lost $36.01 when I shorted 2 DIA Jan13 131 Puts and covered at a loss. Once again, I left a good chunk of money on the table. I also opened a trade this week, buying 10 CAT Jan13 100 Calls, for a hedge to my puts, which I am now down around $1,000 on. For more information about these trades, check out my profit.ly page. Before making any decisions based on this article, read my disclaimer and do your own research!!

1.) Caterpillar Inc (CAT)

CAT surged +7.46 last week for a total of +8.53%. Unfortunately, I left a ton of money on the table when I sold my calls for a small $62.93 profit.  I am down around $800 total on CAT, counting realized and unrealized trades. I opened a long position of 10 Jan13 100 Calls to try to salvage my trade, but I highly doubt that this will work out before expiration.

2.) WisdomTree Japan Hedged Equity (DXJ)

DXJ climbed +1.58 last week for a total of +4.35%. DXJ is the only position in my portfolio that is green currently and is still my overall number one pick for 2013. This play has been textbook perfect so far, but we all know how long that keeps up.

Leave a Reply

Categories

