Posted by: ctraderd | December 16, 2012

Watchlist- Week of 12/17/12

In the second week of December, the markets fell by just a little bit. The Dow Jones Industrial Average lost –26.13 for a total of –.20%, the S&P 500 lost only –4.31 for a total of –.30%, and QQQ shares closed on Friday at $64.73, losing a measly –.21 for a total of –.32%. I sold my whole position in CLSN on Wednesday for a $347 profit. I bought in CLSN at $7.73 on Monday, December 3 with a price target of $8. CLSN dipped to a low of around $7.20 over the week, but I decided to hold. On Tuesday of last week, a SEC form 4-K was released which moved CLSN up to around $8.27 after news of the form. I ended up selling on Wednesday at $8.46, well above my price target. You can see the trade on my profit.ly page. I also opened up a long position of 3 of each the CAT Jan12 90 Puts and Calls. Before making any decisions based on this article, read my disclaimer and do your own research!! 

1.) iShares MSCI Emerging Markets Index (EEM)

EEM gained +.54 last week for a total of +1.27%. I am still holding my Dec12 43 Calls and Puts and unless we see a big move upwards out of this baby next week, I am going to lose big at expiration. I was up around $250 on the Puts at one point, but I didn’t sell. Now I am down around $600 on them, so this is another lesson to you guys to TAKE PROFITS. Now I am down around $1000 total on the whole investment, when I could have SOLD for around a $200 loss TOTAL. I can’t stress that fact enough. I’m going to keep saying it until it is drilled in your guys’ and my head: TAKE PROFITS!!

image

2.) Caterpillar Inc. (CAT)

CAT had a great week last week gaining, +2.18 for a total of +2.51%. I opened up a Jan13 90/90 straddle on this baby on Thursday, buying 3 contracts of each option. So far, I am down –210 on the Puts and +84 on the Calls. My breakeven point where the profit on the Calls outweighs the loss on the Puts is at $95.34, and for the Puts is at $84.66. CAT is around the middle of the range right now, resting at $89.00. Right now, I cannot tell which way this baby is going for sure, but it does look like it is about to run into the 200 EMA.

image

Leave a Reply

Categories

