Posted by: ctraderd | September 30, 2012

Watchlist- Week of 10/1/12

As September neared to an end, the bear gained volume and started to take over. In the last 2 weeks of September, I lost $521.08 on trades in AAPL and USO. I was still able to come out at a profit overall in the month of September, making $1,680.24 while trading in school. See all my trades for this month in detail on my profit.ly page. I opened up a core position in EXEL throughout the days of the week and I bought 1 AAPL Oct12 675 Call on Friday. Before making any trades based on this article, read my disclaimer and do your own research!! 

1.) iShares MSCI Emerging Markets Index (EEM):

EEM fell –.20 last week for a total of -.49%. The reason for it falling is because the whole market fell, so it did. I am up +99.00 on my Dec12 43 Puts and down –236 on my Dec12 43 Calls so I am down –137 overall on the trade. Chances are that if the market recovers, EEM will go up with it. On Tuesday, a trade of 25,000 contracts was traded on the Jan14 55 Calls. This is interesting, because these contracts are slightly over 32% out of the money.

image

2.) SPDR Gold Trust (GLD):

GLD gained +1.10 last week for a total of +.64%. I am still holding my GLD straddle, in which my Oct12 172 Calls are up only +12 and my Puts are down –386 so overall, I am down –374 on the trade, but I expect that to change before expiration. Once again my reason for opening the trade was Bernanke’s decision a few weeks ago.

image

3.) Exelixis, Inc. (EXEL):

EXEL fell –.54 last week for a total of –10.15%. I opened up a position on Monday of 500 shares at 5.40. I watched the stock fall, but I held onto my core. I bought 300 more a 4.77 and watched it fall again on Tuesday. Then on Wednesday, I bought 200 more shares at 4.58. On Thursday, shares jumped +.38 for a total of +8.39%.  Now I am set for the run up of Cabozantinib’s PDUFA on November 29. I am down –222 total on the position and I have a price target of 5.80.

image

Leave a Reply

Categories

