Posted by: ctraderd | September 16, 2012

Watchlist- Week of 9/16/12

I am now starting to branch out into new sections of my site and this time it will be watchlists. Last week was a phenomenal week week for me in which I closed out SCI and ACAD at profits. I also entered the world of Commodities for a few trades. Before making any trades based on this article, read my disclaimer and do your own research!!

1.) United States Oil (USO): 

USO had a great week last week, climbing +1.22 for a total of +3.43%. On Friday I added 20 Calls, 10 Oct12 38 Calls and 10 Oct12 40 Calls, at the open. I added these calls because I saw that it had fallen the day before and I knew that Oil usually rebounds. So far I am up on these Calls and I have trailing stops set on them.

chart.ashx

2.) SPDR Gold Trust (GLD):

GLD also had a great week last week climbing +4.03 for a total of +2.40%. I added Puts and Calls in preparation of Bernanke’s announcement on Monday and GLD ended up climbing +3.44 for a total of +2.04%. My 3 Oct12 172 Calls went up, but my 1 Oct12 172 Put fell in half. Overall, I am still up on the position as a whole.

chart.ashx 

3.) iShares MSCI Emerging Markets Index (EEM):

EEM was a rocket last week, climbing +1.94 for a total of +4.80%. Unfortunately, this jump was brought to my attention on Friday, but I am looking to open a long-term straddle at the opening bell tomorrow. When(if) I add options tomorrow, they will be Dec12 43 Puts and Dec12 43 Calls. I will probably add three of each.

chart.ashx

Disclosure: I hold GLD Calls and Puts, USO Calls and I currently have no position in EEM, but am planning to add one within the next 48 hours.

Leave a Reply

Categories

